PSL to kick-off from Feb 9, final to be played in Lahore on March 7

Second edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will start from February 9, 2017 and the first match will be played between defending champions Islamabad United and third-placed team in the first edition Peshawar Zalmi in Dubai.

The event will kick-off with an opening ceremony on the aforementioned date followed by the inaugural match.

After PSL draft: All you need to know about T20 league’s second edition

The double round-robin format will then continue until February 26. The play-offs will be played on September 28, March 1 and March 3 next year.

The final, which is set to take place in Lahore, will then be played on March 7 in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Don’t want PCB politics in PSL, says Najam Sethi

“After the massive success of PSL’s inaugural edition, number of match days for the second edition has been increased from 16 to 18 days,” a Pakistan Cricket Board press release read.

“In line with the announcement by PSL chairman Najam Sethi, that has taken Pakistani cricket fans by a storm, the final [of the second edition] will be played in Lahore on the March 7, 2017, which will help pave way for return of international cricket to the country,” the press release further read.


Opening Ceremony : Thursday, February 9, 2017 in Dubai

Match 1: Peshawar Zalmi VS Islamabad United (Dubai) – February 9

Match 2: Lahore Qalandars VS Quetta Gladiators (Dubai) – February 10

Lahore to host PSL 2017 final as teams pick final squads

Match 3: Karachi Kings VS Peshawar Zalmi (Dubai) – February 10

Match 4: Islamabad United VS Lahore Qalandars (Dubai) – February 11

Match 5: Quetta Gladiators VS Karachi Kings (Dubai) – February 11

Match 6: Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars (Dubai) – February 12

Match 7: Islamabad United VS Quetta Gladiators (Sharjah) – February 15

Match 8: Lahore Qalandars VS Karachi Kings (Sharjah) – February 16

Match 9: Peshawar Zalmi VS Quetta Gladiators (Sharjah) – February 17

Match 10: Karachi Kings VS Islamabad United (Sharjah) – February 17

Match 11: Quetta Gladiators VS Lahore Qalandars (Sharjah) – February 18

Match 12: Islamabad United VS Peshawar Zalmi (Sharjah) – February 18

Match 13: Peshawar Zalmi VS Karachi Kings (Sharjah) – February 19

Match 14: Lahore Qalandars VS Islamabad United (Sharjah) – February 20

Match 15: Karachi Kings VS Quetta Gladiators (Dubai) – February 23

Match 16: Peshawar Zalmi VS Lahore Qalandars (Dubai) – February 24

Match 17: Quetta Gladiators VS Islamabad United (Dubai) – February 24

Match 18: Lahore Qalandars VS Karachi Kings (Dubai) – February 25

Match 19: Peshawar Zalmi VS Quetta Gladiators (Dubai) – February 25

Match 20: Karachi Kings VS Islamabad United (Dubai) – February 26

Playoff 1: Team 1 VS Team 2 (Sharjah) – February 28

Eliminator: Team 3 VS Team 4 (Sharjah) – March 1

Playoff 2: Winner of Eliminator VS Runner-Up of Playoff 1 (Dubai) – March 3

Final: Winner Playoff 1 VS Winner Playoff 2 (Lahore) – March 7*

(Subject to security clearance )*

source The Express Tribune news